Why I ditched AirServer for Reflector

Posted on Updated on

I ditched AirServer for Reflector some time ago. Both can wirelessly mirror your iPhone or iPad screen to any Mac or PC. However, Reflector has been more forgiving on private wireless networks than that of AirServer.  As I travel to do presentations, I cannot control nor anticipate wireless network issues at prospective clients, customers, and hotel conference centers.  A colleague was frustrated after many AirServer support calls and emails with no resolution, so he found Reflector.  When AirServer has failed to connect, Reflector has succeeded to connect.

Reflector w Frame (skin) option

Reflector has a frame (skin) that identical to the device bezel.  From the desktop you can change the frame to be on or off, or from iOS Black / White or to iOS Black / White Mini.  Reflector can mirror multiple devices to one computer for a side-by-side presentation.  You could have multiple presenters comparing screens and apps side-by-side.   This is a great feature for presentations, recording or testing apps. 

Tips: 

1) Full Screen – Blacks out your desktop behind the app. There is a setting to turn on Full Screen upon connection. A Hot Key or a right mouse click from desktop, allows you to turn Full Screen on or off.  

2) Auto-Lock – I recommend increasing pass-code time locking to keep the screen active during presentations.  

3) Recording – Record your iPhone or iPad without wires or extra software.  You can record the frame (skin).  Records in mp4 format.

Overall, Reflector has delivered a better user experience!  For more information please comment, or go checkout http://www.airsquirrels.com/reflector/

Below are examples of multiple devices being mirrored at the same time, Full Screen, Scale: Stretch to Fit and Show Frame (skin).

Multiple mirrored devices
Multiple mirrored devices – iPhone 5 and iPad.

4 thoughts on “Why I ditched AirServer for Reflector

    Klaudia (@KlaudiaJurewicz) said:
    March 29, 2014 at 11:11 pm

    Thank you for sharing this review. I’m testing both programs and so far: AirServer has a little better quality (the size of iPhone/iPad icons displayed on laptop screen is bigger than when using Reflector). Reflector seems to has less “issues”, just click and go vs. AirServer has some glitches sometimes.

      rcklein responded:
      March 30, 2014 at 7:50 am

      Thanks for the feedback. I had an instance recently where Reflector didn’t work, and I had to use AirServer. So, thankfully I own them both.

    Ben Minutoli said:
    August 12, 2014 at 4:17 am

    Hi Robert, thanks for the post. I am also just deciding which one to choose from. I like the fact that it actually looks like a device on the screen with Reflector, but I am thinking I will go for Airserver just because it has a resolution of 1080p, where as Reflector is 720. Although no doubt in the near future Reflector will come out with an update to the higher resolution.

    However the issue I am having with Airserver is that because I am a business the cost is higher than what it would be if It was for personal use. I don’t actually want to use it for presentations, but more so to record tutorials for staff and to record the screen so I can show web developers mistakes they have made on my website when looking at it on a mobile device.

    I guess the question is can I get away with getting it as personal use and other than the cost is there any difference or more so advantage to me buying the business licence.

    What are your thoughts on it?

    Regards
    Ben

    Dale Hurtt said:
    November 7, 2014 at 8:29 am

    Timely review for me as I now try and record iOS app functions for YouTube and I was pondering which to buy. Given that I will also use it for presentations in others’ offices, this was helpful.

Leave a Reply

